Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Years of the Maritime Continent (YMC)


Years of the Maritime Continent (YMC) is an international program with the ultimate goal of observing the weather-climate system of the Earth’s largest archipelago, the Indo-Pacific Maritime Continent (MC), to improve understanding and prediction of its local variability and global impact. The program is endorsed by CLIVAR and other WCRP/WWRP groups. Its participants come from over 15 countries. The program started in 2017 and is continuing through and beyond 2021 with several international field campaigns in the region.

YMC has motivated a surge of research activities on various topics related to the MC. Publications on these topics have appeared in the journals of AMS, AGU, EGU, MSJ, RMS, and CGU. To better serve readers of these journals, the YMC Science Steering Committee is coordinating with these organizations on a cross-organization special collection of papers on YMC topics. A master list of this special collection is hosted on the YMC homepage. The papers published in AMS journals appear below.

The five themes of YMC are Atmospheric Convection, Upper-Ocean Processes and Air-Sea Interaction, Stratosphere-Troposphere Interaction, Aerosol, and Prediction improvement. Main activities of YMC include field observations, data sharing, modeling, prediction applications, and capacity building. Authors are encouraged to submit their manuscripts relevant to YMC to the participating journals of their choice. This special collection covers the period from January 2020 through December 2025. Authors of papers on YMC topics published in 2016-2019 in the participating journals may request their papers to be retroactively included in the special collection.

More information on YMC

Collection organizers:
Chidong Zhang and Kunio Yoneyama
Co-Chairs of YMC Science Steering Committee

Special Collection Image
Xiang Li; Dongliang Yuan; Zheng Wang; Yao Li; Corry Corvianawatie; Dewi Surinati; Asep Sandra; Ahmad Bayhaqi; Praditya Avianto; Edi Kusmanto; Dirham Dirhamsyah; Zainal Arifin
Journal of Physical Oceanography
Dongliang Yuan; Xiang Li; Zheng Wang; Yao Li; Jing Wang; Ya Yang; Xiaoyue Hu; Shuwen Tan; Hui Zhou; Adhitya Kusuma Wardana; Dewi Surinati; Adi Purwandana; Mochamad Furqon Azis Ismail; Praditya Avianto; Dirham Dirhamsyah; Zainal Arifin; Jin-Song von Storch
Journal of Physical Oceanography
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal