Search Results

You are looking at 1 - 2 of 2 items for

  • Author or Editor: Rik Wanninkhof x
  • All content x
Clear All Modify Search
Brian Ward, Rik Wanninkhof, Peter J. Minnett, and Michael J. Head


The Skin Depth Experimental Profiler (SkinDeEP) is an autonomous, self-contained, hydrodynamic instrument capable of making repeated, high-resolution profiles of temperature and conductivity within the ocean's upper decameter. Autonomous profiling operation is accomplished through SkinDeEP's ability to change its density: positive buoyancy is achieved by pumping air from inside the body of the profiler into an external, neoprene, inflatable sleeve; the instrument sinks when the sleeve is deflated by returning the air to the interior. The sensors are mounted some distance from the top endcap and data are recorded only during the ascending phase of the profile so as to minimize disruption of a naturally occurring scalar structure by the presence of the instrument. Temperature and conductivity are measured with resolutions in the submillimeter and millimeter ranges, respectively. Highly accurate and slower sensors are installed for calibration purposes. These data are used to study exchange processes at the air–sea interface and the structure of the ocean just below.

Full access
Molly Baringer, Mariana B. Bif, Tim Boyer, Seth M. Bushinsky, Brendan R. Carter, Ivona Cetinić, Don P. Chambers, Lijing Cheng, Sanai Chiba, Minhan Dai, Catia M. Domingues, Shenfu Dong, Andrea J. Fassbender, Richard A. Feely, Eleanor Frajka-Williams, Bryan A. Franz, John Gilson, Gustavo Goni, Benjamin D. Hamlington, Zeng-Zhen Hu, Boyin Huang, Masayoshi Ishii, Svetlana Jevrejeva, William E. Johns, Gregory C. Johnson, Kenneth S. Johnson, John Kennedy, Marion Kersalé, Rachel E. Killick, Peter Landschützer, Matthias Lankhorst, Tong Lee, Eric Leuliette, Feili Li, Eric Lindstrom, Ricardo Locarnini, Susan Lozier, John M. Lyman, John J. Marra, Christopher S. Meinen, Mark A. Merrifield, Gary T. Mitchum, Ben Moat, Didier Monselesan, R. Steven Nerem, Renellys C. Perez, Sarah G. Purkey, Darren Rayner, James Reagan, Nicholas Rome, Alejandra Sanchez-Franks, Claudia Schmid, Joel P. Scott, Uwe Send, David A. Siegel, David A. Smeed, Sabrina Speich, Paul W. Stackhouse Jr., William Sweet, Yuichiro Takeshita, Philip R. Thompson, Joaquin A. Triñanes, Martin Visbeck, Denis L. Volkov, Rik Wanninkhof, Robert A. Weller, Toby K. Westberry, Matthew J. Widlansky, Susan E. Wijffels, Anne C. Wilber, Lisan Yu, Weidong Yu, and Huai-Min Zhang
Full access